A river with rocks and grass at the edge. Pine trees in the distance.

Highlighting Minnesota Water Resource Center's research and education.

Minnegram is a quarterly publication of the University of Minnesota Water Resources Center and is sponsored by the University of Minnesota College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Science, University of Minnesota Extension, the USGS-USDI National Institutes for Water Resources, and the Agricultural Experiment Station.

Subscribe to Minnegram

Recent Minnegram News

Minnegram: special MN Water Resources Conference Edition

November 29, 2023

The 2023 Minnesota Water Resources Conference returned to the St. Paul RiverCentre October 17-18, with attendance numbers approaching pre-pandemic levels, nearing 900. Attendees had over 100 breakout presentations to choose from, as well as in-depth plenary sessions, covering the health of the Mississippi River watershed, leadership discussion of the future of Minnesota’s drinking water, and a fusion of engineering and art as a vision and tool for future water resource planning.

2023 Deb Swackhamer and Dave Ford awards

November 29, 2023

This year's Minnesota Water Resources Conference awards recipients include Mark Doneux, Madeline Nyblade and John Nieber.

Preventing, minimizing, and mitigating the impacts of urban stormwater on Minnesota’s water

September 15, 2023

Stormwater runoff from our communities - from streets, driveways, parking lots, and rooftops - often negatively impacts lakes, rivers, streams, wetlands and sometimes, shallow groundwater resources.

Every drop counts in Minnesota’s thirstiest soils

September 12, 2023

Irrigating for quality crops while conserving water requires technology and the knowledge that powers it.

The speed with which water drains through sandy soils makes watering crops in a sand plain both an agronomic necessity and a conservation challenge.

Solutions to Urban Stormwater Runoff

September 12, 2023

Stormwater runoff from our communities’ streets, driveways, parking lots, and rooftops can degrade the quality of our lakes, rivers, streams, wetlands and sometimes, shallow groundwater resources. Urban, suburban, and agricultural stormwater runoff carries pollutants such as nutrients, pathogens, and sediment. When the amount (volume) and speed (rate) of runoff increases, such as during and after storms, outcomes can include localized and downstream flooding.