Water Resources Center

The Water Resources Center is affiliated with the College of Food, Agricultural and Natural Resource Sciences and University of Minnesota Extension.

Deborah L Swackhamer

Deb Swackhamer

Professor, Science Technology & Environmental Policy and Environmental Health Sciences


Phone: 612-624-9282

E-mail: dswack@umn.edu

Dr. Deborah L. Swackhamer is a Professor of Science, Technology, and Public Policy in the Hubert H. Humphrey School of Public Affairs, and served as Co-director of the WRC from September 2003 to July, 2014. She also is a Professor of Environmental Health Sciences in the School of Public Health. She received a BA in Chemistry from Grinnell College, IA and a MS and PhD from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in Water Chemistry and Limnology & Oceanography, respectively. After two years post-doctoral research in Chemistry and Public & Environmental Affairs at Indiana University, she joined the Minnesota faculty in 1987. She studies the processes affecting the behavior of, and exposures to, toxic chemicals in the environment and works on policies to address these potential risks.

In 2012 Dr. Swackhamer completed a four-year term as Chair of the Science Advisory Board of the US Environmental Protection Agency, and currently is a member of the Science Advisory Board of the International Joint Commission of the US and Canada. She currently serves on the National Research Council, National Academy of Sciences committee addressing Sustainability Linkages in the Federal Government. She is also a Governor appointee on the Minnesota Clean Water Council. She was President of the National Institutes of Water Resources in 2011-2012. Dr. Swackhamer is a member of the Editorial Advisory Board for the journal Environmental Science & Technology. She is a Fellow in the Royal Society of Chemistry in the UK. Dr. Swackhamer received the 2007 Harvey G. Rogers Award from the Minnesota Public Health Association. In 2009 she received the prestigious Founders Award from the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry for lifetime achievement in environmental sciences. She was the 2010 recipient of the University of Minnesota’s Ada Comstock Award.